Volksforum.com

Go Back   Volksforum.com > International > Watercooled technical forums > Golf and Jetta Mk2
User Name
Password
Home Shop FAQ Register Members List Calendar Today's Posts




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 10-04-2005, 20:16
mr.Jenssen mr.Jenssen is offline
Forum Newbee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Default Calling all with knowledge of DIGIFIZ

I just swapped in a 16v from an Edition One, and got the complete wiring harness and a digifiz with it. Thing is, I had the digifiz up and running, but all of a sudden the digits went away! The backlighting and warning lights all work, it's just the speedo, clock, tankgauge and odometer that's dead.
Does this mean I've fried it, or is there some way to fix it? Please help!


Here's my car:


Last edited by mr.Jenssen : 10-04-2005 at 20:20.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-04-2005, 00:12
Tjaap's Avatar
Tjaap Tjaap is offline
Volksforum Crew - You WILL comply!!
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 25,173
Default

sorry, no answer, but... nice car
__________________
Welcome to the internet:
Where men are men, women are men, and little girls are FBI agents.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-04-2005, 00:54
PerL's Avatar
PerL PerL is offline
Volksforum Crew - Moderator International Forums
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,114
Send a message via MSN to PerL
Default

Sounds like a connector on the rear side has come loose.
__________________
If you have a 5 cylinder, you don't need a stereo.

1999 Audi A6 quattro
1990 Volkswagen Golf CL Syncro
1987 Audi Coupe quattro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-04-2005, 07:15
mr.Jenssen mr.Jenssen is offline
Forum Newbee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Default

I'm afraid that's not it, I've checked everything there...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-04-2005, 07:37
johangolf1's Avatar
johangolf1 johangolf1 is offline
VW Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 835
Send a message via MSN to johangolf1
Default

i have got a digifiz dash too...
and i replaced it with a spare one i had in store...
but when i placed the spare one and turning on the ignition it siad insp. (inspection)
and i only have the lower spec everthing above that does not work :s
the original digifiz is in belgium for reseting i hope when i place that one back everything works again...
i hope someone knows this problem then i also can make mine spare digifiz...

btw nice car and i like the wheels...
__________________
Golf 1 ls 1.8 8v GTI 1975
Polo 1.0 Classic C 1984
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-04-2005, 17:21
mr.Jenssen mr.Jenssen is offline
Forum Newbee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks!
Well, I spoke to the local VAG-dealer here, and they figured that it was dead and gone. But I can't figure out why! There has to be something funny somewhere. I've been so trouble-ridden with this 16v-swap, everything goes pear-shaped. First off I fried the starter for some reason I don't know, then it took me 4 days to get the fuel-pumps running, and now the digifiz. I wish someone had real deep knowledge into it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-04-2005, 08:18
Housey's Avatar
Housey Housey is offline
Forum regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 88
Send a message via MSN to Housey
Default

well, since digifiz isn't all that common, you will have a hard time finding someone who really knows how it works!..

anyhow.. have you checked the instrument? are there any burned capasitors?

and are you sure that all the wiring are correct? and the fuse is new?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13-04-2005, 14:28
mr.Jenssen mr.Jenssen is offline
Forum Newbee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Well, everything worked until I changed the relay for the fuel pumps and used the wrong one.
i've had the digifiz apart but could not find anything burned, but there are quite a few microchips in it, so I guess maybe some of them are fried.
Got hold of another digifiz yesterday, so hopefully it will be alright!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13-04-2005, 15:04
Housey's Avatar
Housey Housey is offline
Forum regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 88
Send a message via MSN to Housey
Default

digifiz er sykt dyrt!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20-10-2005, 10:36
g60pops g60pops is offline
Forum Newbee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19
Default

did you manage to get it working?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 20-10-2005, 12:07
Housey's Avatar
Housey Housey is offline
Forum regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 88
Send a message via MSN to Housey
Default

i think he did.. after a few new displays..
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 25-10-2005, 10:01
pikzibner's Avatar
pikzibner pikzibner is offline
Forum regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 84
Send a message via ICQ to pikzibner
Default

Nice car man
Reply With Quote
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:53.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All rights reserved, Volksforum