PDA

View Full Version : chopsauce - France

chopsauce
24-01-2008, 08:50
Hi,

My name is Christophe. I am (close to) 42 years old and vw enthusiast since ... 1970 - nearly. In previous lives I have been a teacher in mathematics and a lecturer in agricultural meteorology.

Now I spend my time between our son and the restau-preparation of our vintage possessions : the house (1860), a V7Sport Moto Guzzi (1976) and the Mk2 GTD Golf (1989).

I am a metal worker also and my professional interests are for fine arts and ... the mechanics of course. I also used to be doing research on vegetation wake turbulence modeling.

Cheers,
Christophe

Stijn
24-01-2008, 08:54
Welcome Christophe, it's about time some french showed up here :)

Any chance on some pics of your vintage possesions?

And you got me thinking now... I know what wake turbulence is, I know what vegetation is...but vegetation wake turbulence?

chopsauce
24-01-2008, 09:20
Welcome Christophe, it's about time some french showed up here :)

Any chance on some pics of your vintage possesions?

And you got me thinking now... I know what wake turbulence is, I know what vegetation is...but vegetation wake turbulence?

Thanks for your interest. There's very little chance you can see much pics before long. Not only for technical reasons : I like the "after" but not "before" pics, plus I am soooo slow.

For vegetation wake turbulence, the trick is the fine scale interaction can not be simulated properly - even with modern computers - especially when dealing with the coupling with bio-chemical processes. So the interaction ought to be modelled through source terms whose constants are tricky to set/tune. These constants I could constraint - and reveal a constant for the macroscale effect of molecular scale viscosity on turbulent kinetic energy dissipation :screwy:

Tjaap
24-01-2008, 09:35
welcome..
teacher in mathematics and a metalworker.... now that's a combination you don't hear every day.

Marcski
24-01-2008, 09:35